31 Matching Annotations
  1. Jul 2021
    1. Because GraphQL is an opinionated API spec where both the server and client buy into a schema format and querying format. Based on this, they can provide multiple advanced features, such as utilities for caching data, auto-generation of React Hooks based on operations, and optimistic mutations.
  2. May 2021
  3. Apr 2021
  4. Mar 2021
    1. Your validation functions should also treat undefined and '' as the same. This is not too difficult since both undefined and '' are falsy in javascript. So a "required" validation rule would just be error = value ? undefined : 'Required'.
    1. This isn't really a downside to React; one of React's strengths is that it lets you control so much and slot React into your environment
    2. Svelte is different in that by default most of your code is only going to run once; a console.log('foo') line in a component will only run when that component is first rendered.
  5. Feb 2021
    1. The bare bones operation without any Trailblazery is implemented in the trailblazer-operation gem and can be used without our stack.
    2. While Trailblazer offers you abstraction layers for all aspects of Ruby On Rails, it does not missionize you. Wherever you want, you may fall back to the "Rails Way" with fat models, monolithic controllers, global helpers, etc. This is not a bad thing, but allows you to step-wise introduce Trailblazer's encapsulation in your app without having to rewrite it.
    3. Only use what you like.
    4. you can pick which layers you want. Trailblazer doesn't impose technical implementations
  6. www.metacritic.com www.metacritic.com
    1. Please, do not buy this. I am really tired of "games" that are given critical praise because its cool to praise or because its political correct to do. I will break up my review in points so its clear why I dislike this "game" : 1) This is not a game. This is a short story, like an interactive book. 2) This game is so short, that I completed it in a 3 hour bus ride. It was boring. 3) Its a story of a girl that have to take the reigns of her life after divorce. WOMAN EMPOWERMENT. Now you know why this game is rated so highly 4) This is a MOBILE GAME. I paid $3 to play on an iphone (after watching a gaming channel give it GOTY contender. Needless to say, I never watched that gaming channel again). I FELT I WAS ROBBED OF TIME AND $3. Imagine how much I hated this game to feel like I was robbed even though it costed me only $3. 5) This game costs $7 on the eshop. You could buy CELESTE for $9 on sale on the Eshop. That is a great game. I recently bought Hollow Knight for $7 on Playstation. This interactive novel should not be sold as a game. Period. It is a waste of time and money.

      Nothing wrong with interactive novels being sold in the same store as games... as long as it's clear what it is (no false advertising).

      Somewhat agree with some of the other points...

  7. Nov 2020
  8. Oct 2020
    1. Self-concept also differs from self-esteem: self-concept is a cognitive or descriptive component of one's self (e.g. "I am a fast runner"), while self-esteem is evaluative and opinionated (e.g. "I feel good about being a fast runner").
  9. Sep 2020
    1. This is a framework and it comes with certain opinions about how things should be done, this isn't unique to Svelte. And before we can decide whether or not we will allow certain behaviour or encourage it with better ergonomics, we have to have a conversation about whether or not we should be doing things that way. You can't separate the can from the should in an opinionated framework. We want to make building UIs simpler, for sure, but also safer we don't want to add ease of use at the expense of component encapsulation, there has to be a balance
    1. Most of the linked issues, as well as this RFC, attempt to solve this problem by relaxing Svelte's CSS scoping rules, providing a better API with which to use global, or by manually passing down classes. We have never found this to be an acceptable solution which is why those issues have been closed. That position has not changed.
    2. Svelte is an opinionated tool; it has opinions about how things should be done and what should be allowed. By adding constraints, we have managed to create a simple API and a performant output. These are often conscious decisions: we don't necessarily agree with historic approaches or how other tools are doing things, and we are happy to push back where we think there may be a better way. This is one of those cases, and I feel that context is important here.
  10. Apr 2020
  11. Nov 2019
    1. And while GitLab is a flexible product, we are also building an opinionated product that’s aimed at helping you move faster from idea to production.
  12. Oct 2019
    1. Yes, absolutely, no two projects are alike. This step is moving towards a direction where we have a set of best practices for webpack isolated in a bundled package and can be maintained in isolation without impacting upgrades or end-user experience. If you have seen next.js or create-react-app they sort of do they same thing for ease and maintainability. Rails is a great example for this - there are some built-in best practices, opinionated defaults and gems that are hidden behind the scene plus power to do advance things where needed.
  13. Sep 2019
    1. Unlike MobX, Mobx-State-Tree is an opinionated library that imposes a strict architecture on state organization.