391 Matching Annotations
  1. Last 7 days
    1. accepting an answer doesn't mean it is the best one. For me it is interesting how argumentation of some users is reduced to "Hey, the editor has 5000+ edits. Do not ever think that a particular edit was wrong."
  2. Feb 2024
    1. . The paper identifies unique ways in which online communication (in the context of learning) is different from face-to-face communication, and consequently four ways in which this can be an advantage for students; namely, there is a measure of social egalitarianism, emphasis on verbal/written proficiency, time for reasoned response, and social age

      Each teaching mode (f2f, online, synchronous, asynchronous, etc.) has unique challenges and benefits. Instead of comparing them to figure out "which is better" we should simply figure out how to use each mode in the best possible way to take advantages of the affordances of that mode.

  3. Jan 2024
    1. district level policies that prohibit the use of these tools in classroom contexts.

      I think with all of the pressures on elementary teachers to fit in so many subjects among other district initiatives throughout the year, why not teach teachers how to properly use GenAI and allow them to assist with teaching subjects/topics they may not feel as knowledgable on?

    2. What this means is that it is easier to believe and act as if LLM’s are psychological beings than to consider them machines.

      To me, I can relate this to the effects that regular social media use has on some people, where they develop an addiction or fictional relationship with people online, or live in a fantasy world. And this is one of the scary sides of social media use.

    3. a future for which we are responsible and committed to prepare our students for.

      Yes! So often we hear that we are preparing kids to be 21st Century learners and so much of that lends its way to technology so the way I see it, is this is just part of it.

    4. Perhaps one of the most immediately visible benefits of GenAI tools are their ability to produce and revise text, allowing learners to focus on the development and expression of ideas rather than the mechanics of writing.

      Yes! I have heard of colleagues using AI not to write their paper for them, but simply to revise. I haven't thought deeply about it, but I don't think there is anything wrong with this.

  4. Dec 2023
    1. i commissioned some original polling for my book from abacus research and i found some very hopeful stuff and you know the public gets the emergency and incidentally i've tried to recast 00:12:46 some of the the extreme weather events we've experienced as attacks on our soil let's think about them that way yeah um and they're ready for bold action actually the public is ahead of our politics in terms of that i was surprised to see 00:12:58 that you even mentioned in alberta the numbers are much higher than you so you mentioned quebec before so the the opinion polling nationally ranges from a high in quebec in terms of their readiness fraction right to a low in alberta but even in alberta 00:13:12 the level of support is remarkably high
      • for: climate crisis - Canada - surprising positive public opinion shift
  5. Nov 2023
    1. yeah - it is basically half the stuff you don't want autoloaded and half app/lib but it is not called app/lib because DHH does not want app/lib"
    2. I stand by what I said and I do not believe it is off-topic. Nevertheless, I realize it is your forum and if you want to silence and exclude people because something we say does not fit in your worldview, then I am certainly willing to accept this and remove myself from the forum. In the big picture, I will not be shut up or bullied and I think you owe me an apology as nothing I have said or done warrants your actions.
  6. Oct 2023
    1. CONFIRM Try it again or see if others can

      I feel like confirming is the most important because when you confirm something, it is officially known and true. Also, you know that you did or did not do it well and you know how you should improve.

  7. Sep 2023
    1. The popularity of these coffeehouses attracted government interest and were attended by government spies to gather public opinion.

      gathering public opinion from Ottoman Coffeehouses

    1. files with characters after the last newline are not text files, and those characters don't constitute a line. In many cases those bogus characters are better left ignored or removed, though there are cases where you may want to treat it as a extra line, so it's good you show how.
  8. Aug 2023
  9. Jul 2023
    1. ya estamos en condiciones de cambiar nuestros hábitos de lectura y compartir nuestras lecturas con otros.

      Un punto muy interesante porque además de poder cambiar nuestros hábitos de lectura, el hecho de visualizar los comentarios y las ideas de otras personas, nos permite reflexionar sobre otros puntos de vista e incluso puede impactar nuestra opinión.

  10. Jun 2023
    1. If we hand most, if not all responsibility for that exploration to the relatively small number of people who talk at conferences, or have popular blogs, or who tweet a lot, or who maintain these very popular projects and frameworks, then that’s only a very limited perspective compared to the enormous size of the Ruby community.
  11. May 2023
    1. ge majorities in all the countries surveyed – ranging from 60% in Sweden, 63% in Germany and 65% in the UK to 77% in Spain, 79% in France and 81% in Italy – said they were very or fairly worried about climate change and its effects.

      Eine YouGov-Umfrage in 7 europäischen Ländern zeigt, dass eine große Mehrheit wegen der globalen Erhitzung besorgt ist und eingreifende Maßnahmen der Regierungen dagegen begrüßt, dass aber zur Zeit nur Minderheiten Veränderungen wie dem Verbot von Verbrennern zustimmen, die deutliche Folgen für ihre Alltagsleben hätten. https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2023/may/02/many-europeans-want-climate-action-but-less-so-if-it-changes-their-lifestyle-shows-poll

  12. Mar 2023
    1. discussions about SMS-2FA get heated very quickly. I've found that SMS-2FA deployment or advocacy has been a major professional project for some people, and they take questioning it's efficacy personally
    1. Those symbols of great wealth and the reality of their lives noisily clashed.

      This is a very strong line from Rodriguez's autobiography. It encapsulates the autobiography's central conflict: Rodriguez's Mexican-American identity and his desire to assimilate into American culture and achieve wealth and status. It also exemplifies the memoir's broader theme of the complexity of identity and how individuals negotiate the conflicting cultural and social expectations placed on them.

    2. At seventeen I still didn’t know how to read, but those pictures confirmed my identity.

      This was a particularly strong line in Baca's memoir. He's referring to the book "450 Years of Chicano History in Pictures," which he stole from the hospital's reference library. The book included images of Chicano history and culture, which helped Baca understand and accept his Chicano identity. This realization instilled in him a sense of pride and belonging that he hadn't experienced before.

    1. Durante años, los inventos han ampliado los poderes físicos de las personas en lugar de los poderes de su mente. Argumenta que están a la mano los instrumentos que, si se desarrollan adecuadamente, darán a la sociedad acceso y dominio sobre el conocimiento heredado de las épocas. La perfección de estos instrumentos pacíficos, sugiere, debería ser el primer objetivo de nuestros científicos.

      Esto es buenísimo para la innovación de nuevos inventos que pueden beneficiar la humanidad por medio de la imaginación del ser humano pero creo se debe ser limitado debido a la gran imaginación que contiene el ser humano pero dicha imaginación se puede crear ideas buenas, malas y desechables.

    1. Es conocido por el papel político que tuvo en el desarrollo de la bomba atómica y por su idea Memex, por el cual podemos considerarlo el padre del concepto "hipertexto". El Memex fue un proyecto que no se llegó a llevar a cabo; pero más adelante en 1989, fue precursor de la World Wide Web.

      Es conocido por el papel político que tuvo en el desarrollo de la bomba atómica y por su idea Memex, por el cual podemos considerarlo el padre del concepto "hipertexto". El Memex fue un proyecto que no se llegó a llevar a cabo; pero más adelante en 1989, fue precursor de la World Wide Web. La verdad el creo una gran herramienta para elaborar conceptos de hipertexto y que hoy en día (aunque se considere cosa del pasado) se siga usando.

    1. es una herramienta para hacer anotaciones a lecturas en y fuera de línea, que estén en formatos PDF y HTML. Dicha herramienta está hecha por una fundación sin ánimo de lucro y su misión es hacer de la lectura anotada algo

      Me parece una gran herramienta para encontrar documento en formato PDF Y HTML con información en el ámbito académico y que se pueda interactuar con otros grupos sobre el contenido de esos documentos. La verdad puede ser una buena herramienta para el sector académico pero creo que esta muy limitado por el simple echo de usar un leguaje de programación limitado.

    1. Nos movilizamos desde muchos lugares: proyectos autogestionados, centros comunitarios, instituciones públicas, organizaciones culturales, empresas privadas, cooperativas y otras constelaciones.

      Qué bueno sería que se realizaran campañas abiertas a este tipo de manifestaciones, pues en ocasiones se pensaría en esto como algo subversivo.

  13. Feb 2023
    1. para que a futuro con esa palabra puedas buscarlo y encontrarlo

      Es muy interesante poder remitirnos a lo subrayado y así recordar lo que se ha analizado

    1. we admit no wrongdoing

      Which means that as far as patient privacy is concerned, GoodRX has no integrity and its reputation is deservedly destroyed.

      This is a "lawyer" response.

      It will not keep GoodRX from being sued. It will not reduce the liability. But saying this, is an absolute indication that this is a classic non-apology and failure to take responsibility.

      Recall, specifically, that a Facebook user discovered that their medication information was in Facebook because GoodRX had put it there.

      To classify this as no-wrongdoing is intellectually dishonest. Especially when GoodRX itself previously categorized this mistake as "not living up to our own standards". Note that this link is to a blog post that GoodRX has since taken down. Not a good look to declare now that you did nothing wrong, when you previously admitted that you had done something wrong, and then you took down that blog post. The url for that blog post now forwards to GoodRX privacy policies (i.e. the privacy policies that they failed to honor, which is what got them in hot water with the FTC)

      Again, quoting from that now-deleted blog post: "For this we are truly sorry, and we will do better. "

      So this letter on the privacy problems is a redaction of the previous position which was "Yeah we were sharing data with Facebook.. we should not have been.. we will stop doing that, and we are sorry".

      GoodRX could have chosen to notify all of its users of this problem at that time, but chose not do so, putting it in violation of the FTC breach notification rule.

      So no matter how you cut it, this is an example of wrong-doing, GoodRX did mess up, and they have never taken full responsibility for their mistakes. Indeed what little responsibility they have taken, this article largely unwinds.

      GoodRX does a valuable and critical service for patients. I will continue to recommend it to patients. But I will state, clearly, that GoodRX will sell patient data in unethical ways, and that this is the decision that patients need to make as the decide whether to have discounted medications or privacy.

      GoodRX current position is that patients must choose one or the other. Privacy or affordable medication. Not both.

      -ft

    2. These statements are neither promises nor guarantees

      It is very hard to believe in commitments made in documents when the document itself sends a notice to regulators that these are "not promises".

    3. While we may elect to update such forward-looking statements at some point in the future, we disclaim any obligation to do so, even if subsequent events cause our views to change.

      While I understand that this is boilerplate language for a public company, it reduces trust to say "If we change our mind and our policies, we reserve the right to keep this page up as it is".

      This is a strong indication that this document exists as a message to investors and regulators primarily and not as letter to the patient community that make up GoodRX customers.

    4. We’ve worked hard to earn that trust.

      It is more reasonable to say:

      "We have worked hard to monetize this trust, without totally panicking our customers" which is a more accurate statement.

    1. GoodRx receives a portion of a feethat pharmacies pay to PBMs when users purchase medications using GoodRx Coupons

      This is important because it means that GoodRX does not need to try and make money selling patient data. It has a business model, and violated patient privacy in search of another business model.

  14. Dec 2022
    1. For the record, I've changed my position. I now follow that rule (of single quoting unless needed) and love it. I like it visually and it's slightly more explicit, since there's no need to parse the string to see if it contains any expression.
    1. The author of this editorial claims that there is moral value in using the emissions made by a human body over the course of its lifetime in determining if one should be given life. Making a departure from natural selection, and from sexual attraction and ignoring maternal instinct and cultural familial practices and norms. He proposes that the act of being alive can be measured in its impact upon others who will share the future climate them and since the impact is not 0 then there must be an upper limit of "too many". Immorally, he does not include a measure of "too few" and does not make any mention of the problems society has with exponential population decline. Such as Japan currently selling more adult than infant diapers as their population collapses because of too few children. In fact there is no mention of generational replacement or reproduction rate. Just a simplistic measure of a human impact upon the environment with the entirety of positive impact deleted, omitted, ignored completely. There is in fact no moral high ground in maintaining or promoting the idea that human life has no positive value to the earth. Failing to see ones own value or the value of human life as a whole, rejecting the desire to help human kind survive and prosper and reducing human beings to objects with emissions and no positive output potential is morally reprehensible and not a scientifically sound conclusion, given the observable facts. Among them, that every human being alive on the planet today, standing shoulder to shoulder, would not fill the area of los angeles, and setting aside one acre of our best land for every human being on earth would require an area no arger than texas. There is no scientific basis for concluding there are too many people or that the future humans would benefit from lower population. it is a common error, in the media today, where the impact on climate is evaluated out of the context of all other scilences where positive impacts and negative impacts of human life are observable. Such as biological sciences or earth sciences. it is true, that if we lived on a gas giant, where the only element of the planetary ecosystem was the climate, then such an evaluation of our "carbon footprint" would be meaningful. but since we have a planet with oceans dryland and predators and dangerous conditions, it is morrally reprehensible to suggest our population not maximize its potential to survive to see the future so many are trying to protect by literally throwing their babies out with the bathwater. It is impossible to contribute to the well-being of human life in editorial if you do not have a love of human life. My heart goes out to anyone who takes this article seriously. You do not have to limit your fertility to help humankind survive.

  15. Nov 2022
    1. Honestly, at this point, I don't even know what tools I'm using, and which is responsible for what feature. Diving into the code of capybara and cucumber yields hundreds of lines of metaprogramming magic that somehow accretes into a testing framework. It's really making me loathe TDD despite my previous youthful enthusiasm.

      opinion: too much metaprogramming magic

      I'm not so sure it's "too much" though... Any framework or large software project is going to feel that way to a newcomer looking at the code, due to the number of layers of abstractions, etc. that eventually were added/needed by the maintainers to make it maintainable, decoupled, etc.

    1. Activity diagram spreads confusion by its own name, there must be a reason why nobody understand them and ask similar questions.
    2. assuming a standard is better because the standard says so, it is like that old while(1) infinite loop it is better not to enter.
    1. I have rolled back your edit to Jukka K. Korpela's answer. Please include that information in this answer and/or add a comment to the other answer.
    2. Why not just include the information there and delete this answer?
  16. Sep 2022
    1. the AST version of the code is vastly superior IMHO. The knowledge about what constitutes an access modifier is already encoded in the system so it makes more sense to just call the method to test the type of node. The regexp solution may be expedient, but it's not as resilient to change -- if new access modifiers are added in the future it's very likely this code won't be updated, which will be the source of a bug.
  17. Aug 2022
  18. May 2022
  19. Apr 2022
  20. Mar 2022
    1. Wikipedia,

      Empleo wikipedia cuando necesito realizar una consulta rápida

    1. Another unanchored thought I've had on these matters is coming around to viewing namespace collision as a feature, not a bug. If a programming system is designed to allow you to link against a given module and more or less ignore any and every transitive dependency that this will bring in—because the programming environment makes it excessively easy to do so—then that's a pretty strong reason to consider whether or not that approach to information hiding is actually an anti-feature.

      On the other hand, if during your work on a program you have to reconcile the names used within the system (i.e., such that no two module names collide), then it subtly encourages you to make sure you are able to account for every module that your program depends on.

      People reflexively assume that this would make it cumbersome (or even intractable) to work on a program any larger than a toy, but empiraclly we can observe that a single, shared namespace can, by and large, scale way better than these protests would lead us to believe. It's not out of the question that a project might reach, say, 100kloc with very little friction arising as a consequence of this sort of forced reckoning. (And it's worth considering of the friction that it does impose: is it any worse than the costs we've observed over the last ~10 years from the systems that set out to solve this problem?)

  21. Feb 2022
    1. however, I prefer to take it as an indication that a pretty smart group of people didn't think there was a particularly strong reason to use a different term.

      seems reasonable

  22. Jan 2022
  23. Dec 2021
  24. Nov 2021
    1. Students are also going through trauma. That will go under the mental health issues. The three deaths of students. We are still in a pandemic. Not to mention Tabor walking on campus and scolding us and telling us what we are doing wrong that could also be traumatic or very entertaining. Not only should we do the pass fail thing. But we should have better security. We should have better police. We should also have therapy sessions that deal with traumatic things that have been happening to us. Not only would just make us better students. This would make a better safe campus. And a lot of things have been going on in this fall semester. You know I’m still working on myself. It should not only be pass fail it should be we should work on campus as a whole.

  25. Oct 2021
    1. Personally I think option 1 is the way to go as it doesn't allocate any memory to create a new array but rather modifies the existing array. Then the assignment just lets the compiler know that you modified the array.
    1. The real conspiracies are hiding in plain sight.

      The big difference between the paranoiac's conspiracy theories and the real ones is that in the fake ones the conspirators are "in it together" and form a like-minded group. In reality, the billionaires would be very happy to through each other under the bus if they could.

      So it's not so much that there are real conspiracies as there are a known set of methods and tools - known to everyone, everywhere - that allow this gross power imbalance to be created. These methods and tools are known to all but can only be used by the rich because they are themselves very costly.

  26. Sep 2021
    1. We believe that Kubernetes is the defacto standard for composing Pods and for orchestrating containers, making Kubernetes YAML a defacto standard file format.
    1. SuzeeB🙂. (2021, September 14). Dear vaccinated, We did not take your freedom. The government did. We are not holding your freedoms to ransom. The government is. If we are a danger to you, then your vaccine doesn’t work. If it does, then you should already be free. The government has lied to you. [Tweet]. @NatalieSuB. https://twitter.com/NatalieSuB/status/1437835320628809733

    1. Which do you prefer? If the answer was "the first" then read no further. You have all you need, go forth and be happy.

      good example of: not just assuming people are dissatisfied / will want to change

    1. Saying that web devs used to be fine with relative imports is like saying that human beings used to be fine living without refrigerators. Sure we did. But was it better than it is now? No. No, it wasn't.
    2. Aliases are absolute nonsense for resolving imports. If you don't want to type ../ consider using something like path.resolve(__dirname, '../src') so you can do import Stuff from 'client/components/stuff'; // relative to root of project instead of: import Stuff from 'COMPONENTS/stuff'; // this is dumb
    1. Yeah I don’t think we will find something that works for everyone in all cases. But Webpacker is quite flexible with the setup it has now. Easy to change!
    2. I feel like app/packs (or something like it) is a good name because it communicates to developers that it's not just JavaScript that can be bundled, it's also CSS, images, SVGs — you name it. I realize what can be bundled is wholly dependent on the bundler you use, but even esbuild supports bundling CSS. So couldn't this possibly be confusing?
    1. I think it's very confusing to overload common executables, such as yarn, in the /bin directory as I often put that bin directory first in my path. Thus, I'd unexpectedly get the bin/yarn rather than my system yarn, which I manage with yvm.
    1. Some would argue that the phrase ''survival of the fittest'' is tautological, in that the fittest are defined as those that survive to reproduce.
  27. Aug 2021
  28. Jul 2021
  29. www.dreamsongs.com www.dreamsongs.com
    1. The primary feature for easy maintenance is locality: Locality is that characteristic of source code that enables a programmer to understand that source by looking at only a small portion of it.
    1. I only allowed smaller closures in the code and refactored the rest into separate top-level functions. This is a deliberate move against the common practice of js programmers. Why? Because I noticed closures make code harder to read.
  30. Jun 2021
    1. Thanks, this was just what I was looking for! This is a perfect appropriate use of instance_eval. I do not understand the nay-sayers. If you already have your array in a variable, then sure, a.reduce(:+) / a.size.to_f is pretty reasonable. But if you want to "in line" find the mean of an array literal or an array that is returned from a function/expression — without duplicating the entire expression ([0,4,8].reduce(:+) / [0,4,8].length.to_f, for example, is abhorrent) or being required to assign to a local, then instance_eval option is a beautiful, elegant, idiomatic solution!!
  31. May 2021
    1. Opinion 1/15 (EU-Canada PNR Agreement) of 26 July 2017, EU:C:2017:592
    1. That's what's supported, and is all that is EVER likely to be supported... and even then be DAMNED sure you send multipart with a plaintext copy or a great many mail servers will flat out reject it on the assumption that no legitimate e-mail has any damned business even having HTML in it in the first place!
  32. Apr 2021
    1. There's nothing to stop you from doing initializer code in a file that lives in app/models. for example class MyClass def self.run_me_when_the_class_is_loaded end end MyClass.run_me_when_the_class_is_loaded MyClass.run_me... will run when the class is loaded .... which is what we want, right? Not sure if its the Rails way.... but its extremely straightforward, and does not depend on the shifting winds of Rails.

      does not depend on the shifting winds of Rails.

    1. Games that aren't really like rogue, but tagged roguelike. Lite on rogue elements, they should be tagged as roguelite or genre_roguelike instead. For more info, check out: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roguelike
    1. Neither question nor answer appears to understand the notion of semantic HTML. Height and width are presentational attributes regardless of where you put them. For semantics we establish what the image means to content in the alt tag. I don't remember why it was so important to width/height in the HTML but I suspect it was in case you hit browsers without CSS rendering. It's not a semantics issue. If anything it thwarts separation of concerns to a degree.

      claim: that the OP's question and this answer are incorrect

      Could we say that this answer (that this comment replies to) missed the point?

      I actually believed and thought this answer was spot on ... until I read this comment, and then I reversed my opinion.

    1. Programming is using a language that a machine can understand in order to get it to perform various tasks. Computer programming is how we communicate with machines in a way that makes them function how we need.
    2. Earning a computer programming degree can help you innovate and create solutions for a global society.

      Can talk about how this applies to other areas/problem-solving/impact on world.

    1. However, it can be extremely frustrating placing the tiles. Very commonly there will be no position to place a tile in and it will be put to one side. Perhaps someone new to tile-laying games wouldn't find this so odd, but to anyone with experience of Carcassonne it will seem very limiting. In Carcassonne you can pretty much always place a tile, with several choices of position available. Every player I've introduced this game to has looked at me as if to say, "We must be doing something wrong." But no, that game is designed that way. Sometimes it feels like the map builds itself - there is often only one viable placement, so it starts to feel like a jigsaw, searching for that available position. Surely placing a single tile shouldn't be this difficult!

      I don't think I'd find it frustrating. I think I would enjoy the puzzle part of it.

      But indirectly I see that difficulty in placing tiles impacting my enjoyment: because it means that there are no/few meaningful decisions to be had in terms of where to place your tile (because there's often only 1 place you can put it, and it may sometimes benefit your opponent more than yourself) or which tile to place (because you don't get any choice -- unless you can't play the first one, and then you can play a previously unplayable one or draw blind).

    1. Fatum Betula is, arguably, a nearly perfect video game, depending upon your philosophy when it comes to criticism. If you, like me, believe that to a large extent the success of a game depends upon how well it achieved what it set out to do, I think you can get very far with such an argument.
  33. Mar 2021
    1. Your validation functions should also treat undefined and '' as the same. This is not too difficult since both undefined and '' are falsy in javascript. So a "required" validation rule would just be error = value ? undefined : 'Required'.
    1. As to why both is_a? and kind_of? exist: I suppose it's part of Ruby's design philosophy. Python would say there should only be one way to do something; Ruby often has synonymous methods so you can use the one that sounds better. It's a matter of preference.