31 Matching Annotations
  1. May 2019
    1. The English intellect is sound, so far as it goes,” he continued, seating himself at the table; ” but it has one grave defect—it is always cautious in the wrong place.”

      The September 8, 1860 Literary Gazette review of The Woman in White calls attention to these lines in a series of excerpts about Wilkie Collins's style and characterization.

    1. When an English jury has to choose between a plain fact, on the surface, and a long explanation under the surface, it always takes the fact, in preference to the explanation.

      The September 8, 1860 Literary Gazette review of The Woman in White calls attention to this sentence in a series of excerpts about Wilkie Collins's style and characterization.

    1. Any woman who is sure of her own wits, is a match, at any time, for a man who is not sure of his own temper.

      The September 8, 1860 Literary Gazette review of The Woman in White calls attention to this sentence in a series of excerpts about Wilkie Collins's style and characterization.

    1. Men little know, when they say hard things to us, how well we remember them, and how much harm they do us.

      The September 8, 1860 Literary Gazette review of The Woman in White calls attention to these lines in a series of excerpts about Wilkie Collins's style and characterization.

    2. Women can resist a man’s love, a man’s fame, a man’s personal appearance, and a man’s money; but they cannot resist a man’s tongue, when he knows how to talk to them.[

      The September 8, 1860 Literary Gazette review of The Woman in White calls attention to this sentence in a series of excerpts about Wilkie Collins's style and characterization.

    1. Our words are giants when they do us an injury, and dwarfs when they do us a service.

      The September 8, 1860 Literary Gazette review of The Woman in White calls attention to this final sentence in a series of excerpts used to illustrate Wilkie Collins's style and characterization.

    1. There are many varieties of sharp practitioners in this world, but, I think, the hardest of all to deal with are the men who overreach you under the disguise of inveterate good humour. A fat, well-fed, smiling, friendly man of business is of all parties to a bargain the most hopeless to deal with. Mr. Merriman was one of this class.

      The September 8, 1860 Literary Gazette review of The Woman in White calls attention to these lines in a series of excerpts used to illustrate Wilkie Collins's style and characterization.

    1. When two members of a family, or two intimate friends, are separated, and one goes abroad and one remains at home, the return of the relative or friend who has been travelling, always seems to place the relative or friend who has been staying at home at a painful disadvantage, when the two first meet

      The September 8, 1860 Literary Gazette review of The Woman in White calls attention to these lines in a series of excerpts used to illustrate Wilkie Collins's style and characterization.

  2. Apr 2019
    1. 5 May 1860

      The day before this installment hit the shelves, the Hull Packet and East Riding Times (a periodical published in a town in Yorkshire, England) weighed in on Collins's use of letters and found documents in his novel:

      In All the Year Round, Mr Wilkie Collins, whose Antonina made him suddenly famous, is continuing his most exciting story of “The Woman in White” Usually novels composed of extracts from the letters and diaries of the characters moving in the story, are failures: and to this rule Sir Walter Scott’s Red Gauntlet, even, is no exception. Mr Wilkie Collins, is, however, a great artist in the mechanical development of a story, and, therefore, in spite of the continued extracts from “Miss Halcombe’s diary,” and “Walter Hartright’s journal,” and “Miss Michelson’s narrative,” “The Woman in White,” holds the reader in breathless suspense, and we venture to say that the thousands might be multiplied by many tens who, week after week, and month after month, feel it one of their pressing anxieties to know through what new tribulations Mr. Wilkie Collins’s imaginary heroines will have to pass. In other articles in All the Year Round too much of the mannerism which characterized the papers in Household Words is apparent. Mr. Dickens’s own papers “The Journeys of the Uncommercial Traveller,” are interesting enough, but the imitation of Mr Dickens’s style in the same periodical are often sadly dull and wearisome.

      "Literature." Hull Packet and East Riding Times [Hull, England] 4 May 1860: n.p. 19th Century British Newspapers. 7 Apr. 2015.

    1. Amazon said it was using automated technology to weed out false reviews.It said it invested "significant resources" to protect its review system "because we know customers value the insights and experiences shared by fellow shoppers". /**/ (function() { if (window.bbcdotcom && bbcdotcom.adverts && bbcdotcom.adverts.slotAsync) { bbcdotcom.adverts.slotAsync('mpu', [1,2,3]); } })(); /**/ "Even one inauthentic review is one too many," it added.But Which?'s probe suggested fake reviews were commonplace.

      "Online retail giant Amazon's website is flooded with fake five-star reviews for products from unfamiliar brands, consumer group Which? has claimed."

  3. Mar 2019
    1. 7 things you should know about This page offers two lists of technologies. One relates to learning technologies and the other to campus IT. In either case, one clicks "see all" and is shown a list of many up and coming technologies. One can click the links to get a discussion of seven things the user should know about these technologies. Reports are two pages and follow a set format that includes a brief story or illustration. These introduce the visitor to the use of the technology but do not provide extensive explanation; it is an introduction. Technologies listed on these pages are often but not always technologies that the average instructional designer may put to use. Rating: 3/5

    1. Facebook reviews are another effective strategy, that makes your business go fluent and profitable. Our discussion is all about buying Facebook reviews with quality and cheap. If you apply paid service and get a good number of reviews on your Facebook page, It makes Your business credible to the audiences.

      Facebook reviews are another effective strategy, that makes your business go fluent and profitable. Our discussion is all about buying Facebook reviews with quality and cheap. If you apply paid service and get a good number of reviews on your Facebook page, It makes Your business credible to the audiences.

  4. Feb 2019
    1. Buy Yelp Reviews To Get Real Yelp 5 Star Rating Organically

      You have a great business and we appreciate your efforts and hard work. Let us know, the business category while contacting for yelp reviews. We have to provide more information that increases your business strategy in global marketing.

      Even if it’s considered to be very tough, we make it easy for you. Get the free tips along with the best profiled Yelp reviews.

      You are well aware of yelp and that is why you’re here to buy yelp reviews but for extending the quality of Yelp reviews. I should start from the first.

      Also, I hope You won’t be boring!

    1. Buy Google Reviews For Make Your Business Trusted On Google

      Google reviews keep you out of any kinds of trouble linked to a business. Reviews are special to the audiences to show, how dominating, are you! Surely, People would like to choose shopping from your deal just depending on the reviews marked on your Google my business profile. Let’s discuss the benefits of Google reviews that keep you out of trouble.

  5. Dec 2017
    1. “rapid reviews” perform a synthesis (qualitative and/or quantitative) to provide an answer about the direction of evidence and possibly the strength of evidence;

      Notwithstanding mention of qualitative context indicates that this is about "effects"

  6. Apr 2017
    1. Hypothesis is a lightweight option for adding website annotation with the aim of bringing “a new layer to the web”.
  7. Jan 2017
    1. Jared Jensen – Brigham, UT “I was ready to quit weight training but I decided to give this system a try. On the 3rd week my bench jumped 40 lbs. I was hooked. …I've seen guys in the gym who are using steroids. I get just as good gains as they do without killing myself. I couldn’t imagine working out without this program. Thanks Leo!”
    2. Bill Becker – Mt. Morris, PA “The Bulgarian System is amazing. In just 3 weeks my bench press went from 245 lbs. to 280 lbs. I didn’t think a natural training program could deliver results like this. Thanks OTS.”
    3. David Harper – Stone Mountain, GA “I have never been able to re-create the gains made by the use of anabolics and lifting extremely heavy weights, until now! …In just two months of dedication to this idea my maximum bench went from 260 pounds to 325 pounds which is just 15 pounds from when I was 19 and using anabolics. My body weight has gone from 195 to 225 and I seem to have less of that unwanted spare tire.”
    4. Peter Giaardini – Age 16 New Rochelle, NY “I could literally feel my body growing. I started out a measly 140 lbs. with 14½ inch arms. Now I’m 175 lbs. With 17½ inch arms and growing. My bench press went from 160 lbs. max to 325 lbs. Thanks Leo.”
    5. Mark Zollitsch – Newport Beach, CA “I’m training for the Olympics, and in just two weeks on the Bulgarian System, I added 50 lbs. to my bench. I used to hate doing pullups, now I’m doing five sets of twelve with a 15 lb. dumbbell hanging from my waist. This system is fantastic.”
    6. B. Laswell – Age 40 – Texas “I've been bodybuilding since I was 14. I’ve always been a hardgainer, but after 90 days on the Bulgarian System, I’ve added 140 lbs. to my squad and 20 lbs. of weight without it going to my waist. The Bulgarian System is the best that I have ever used. I only wish I had your course a long time ago; it would have saved me years of slow progress.”
    7. Eric Litster – Brigham City, UT “Thanks to OTS. In the last nine months I’ve added at least 100 pounds to my squat, seventy odd pounds to my bench, and 20 plus pounds to number of other movements. …And it gets better with every trip to the gym.”
    8. Dr. Mark Radermacher – Age 35 Management Consultant – Heartford, WI “I had never seriously lifted weights before in my life, but I wanted a sculptured aesthetic looking physique. Since I started the Bulgarian System I’ve made on believable size and strength gains. I started off struggling with squats at 135 lbs. Now just 3½ months later, I’m using 300 lbs. My chest, legs, and shoulders have gotten so big that I’ve outgrown all my suits.”
    9. Clyde Holland – Florence, AZ “Wow, the Burst program is awesome! It’s the best work out I've ever been exposed to. At the beginning I weighed 195 lbs. Now, I’m 217 lbs. and strong. I’ve been accused of using steroids. 12 weeks has added about 20 lbs. I have never seen anything which looked so wrong but is so right. I have a pile of muscle magazines and books written by Arnold, and others. None compares to this workout.”
    10. Michael Pinheiro – Age 15 High School Student – Hanford, CA Michael came to me weighing only 99 pounds and bench pressing 85 pounds, and he had a sincere desire to get big and strong. I put him on the Bulgarian system, and in the short time he's been using it he's made the most impressive gains of any young guy I've ever seen. Michael now bench presses 205 pounds (up from 85–that's more than double) and front squats 215 pounds (up from one of the 125). He weighs in at 130 pounds (up from 99) and his body fat has increased by only 1.5%. That's an incredible ratio of fat-to-muscle gain.
    11. I Tested It And It Works! I train really hard. Most athletes couldn't hold a candle to me. At 250 pounds and 5'10", I thought I was pretty darn developed. But when I return from the Eastern Bloc, I immediately put their methods to the test on my own body. And I'm happy (and embarrassed) to say that their training system runs rings around everything else I've tried here in the U.S. After just four months on their program, I pared 15 pounds of fat and replaced it with 20 pounds of rock-hard muscle. My neck size is now 20 inches and my arms are 20 ¾ inches. (And that's a cold measurement. What's more, I've never used a steroid in my life, and I don't allow my clients to either.) And I'm just the first example of how amazingly effective the SERIOUS GROWTH system is.
  8. Sep 2016
    1. There will be a · 1 · · · h I ·11 d gtr s1ttmg opposite me w 0 w1 won er why I have not been flirt-ing with her

      This is our first indication throughout the book that David views women differently than the average man. We don't yet know the real reason why, especially since he then refers to "his" Hella. According to Juliet Gardiner, Baldwin's implication here is consistent with the wold wide view of women in the 50's. They were expected to be perfect wives and mothers, and often flirted with and arguably viewed as an object of entertainment.

  9. Jan 2016
  10. Jan 2014
    1. HR people can’t believe that a company the size of Netflix doesn’t hold annual reviews. “Are you making this up just to upset us?” they ask. I’m not. If you talk simply and honestly about performance on a regular basis, you can get good results—probably better ones than a company that grades everyone on a five-point scale.
    1. Traditional corporate performance reviews are driven largely by fear of litigation. The theory is that if you want to get rid of someone, you need a paper trail documenting a history of poor achievement. At many companies, low performers are placed on “Performance Improvement Plans.” I detest PIPs. I think they’re fundamentally dishonest: They never accomplish what their name implies.