176 Matching Annotations
  1. Last 7 days
  2. May 2024
    1. eedback for one or by one person can be time-consuming in online learning environments. Instructors should harness the power of collaboration by using peer review since “producing feedback is cognitively more demanding than receiving it, as it involves higher levels of reflection and engagement” (Nicol, 2011).

      worth of peer reviews

    1. A book entry, which summarizes my thoughts on a book I’ve recently finished reading (see #917 in the image below).

      It looks like the Stephen King entry has a picture of the book cover taped into it. This is an interesting idea.

    1. By that point, Mr. Auster had largely stopped reading reviews, arguing that even the positive reviews often miss the point. “No good can come of it,” he said in the interview in The Independent. “I spare my fragile soul.”

      How much time do book reviewers really spend on either a book or their actual review? Often it's a rushed process at best. How much can a reader get out of a quick read and gut reaction?

      Perhaps things may be good from some of the best of the best reviewers, but generally, the author likely put more work into their work than the reviewer did.

  3. Apr 2024
  4. Mar 2024
  5. Jan 2024
    1. I suppose that what movies should be aiming for: entertainment. Obviously a good movie needs good plot; score; direction; writing; cinematography and acting (all of which this movie has), but what makes me actually care about the movie is the question of 'if I enjoyed the movie'
  6. Dec 2023
  7. Nov 2023
    1. How to Read (and Understand) Hard Books<br /> Jared Henderson https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=laXcJyx9xCc

      A short overview of Adler and Van Doren's How to Read a Book

      Not bad, though Henderson accidentally reads "syntopical" as "synoptical".

  8. Oct 2023
    1. Bruce, James. “The Godless Bible.” Book Review of The Hebrew Bible: A Translation with Commentary by Robert Alter. Law & Liberty, July 15, 2022. https://lawliberty.org/book-review/the-godless-bible/.

    2. Even still, these volumes will not rest on my shelf untouched. Yes, I have read them carefully, but I will return to them again. Indeed, whenever I speak or write about the Hebrew Bible, I plan on consulting them. You should, too.

      After such a scathing review, really?? I'd be interested to hear a few paragraphs about why.

    1. I was able to put the “medium” command in the extra field and also insert italics commands around the title so it was italicized. It looked like this:Medium: Review of the book Beyond the DSM: Toward a process-based alternative for diagnosis and mental health treatment by S. C. Hayes & S. Hofmann, Eds.
    2. You can also specify the item is a book review in Extra by:Type: review-book
    3. Reviewed title: Title of the work being reviewed
    1. Posted byu/IamOkei8 hours agoWhy are people paying thousand of dollars on Zettelkasten courses? It’s freaking stupid! .t3_1728f1n._2FCtq-QzlfuN-SwVMUZMM3 { --postTitle-VisitedLinkColor: #9b9b9b; --postTitleLink-VisitedLinkColor: #9b9b9b; --postBodyLink-VisitedLinkColor: #989898; } questionThese course creators have no real life achievements other than being a sophist…..And you are paying them so that they can brag that they are super rich and don’t need to work

      Someone complaining of Scott Scheper's teaching/pedagogy/"system".

      One needs to read a bit between the lines with only the initial context, but they circled around later to say:

      I am talking about that A**net guy

  9. Sep 2023
    1. Shalini Misra, Patrick Roberts, Matthew Rhodes. (2020). Information overload, stress, and emergency managerial thinking. International Journal of Disaster Risk Reduction Volume 51, December 2020, 101762 https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ijdrr.2020.101762

  10. Aug 2023
    1. How do you refer from and to multiple sources? .t3_15eljnf._2FCtq-QzlfuN-SwVMUZMM3 { --postTitle-VisitedLinkColor: #9b9b9b; --postTitleLink-VisitedLinkColor: #9b9b9b; --postBodyLink-VisitedLinkColor: #989898; }

      reply to u/IvanCyb at https://www.reddit.com/r/antinet/comments/15eljnf/how_do_you_refer_from_and_to_multiple_sources/

      Usually if I find a quote somewhere, I'll try to track down the original source, check the context and excerpt it from the original. If it's something mission critical, I might note that it was excerpted and used in other sources and whether it was well excerpted for their case or not. Sometimes, quoting can also help to make a solid case about the influence a work had and notes on that can be a useful thing. If I make multiple notes about the same sort of idea, that's fine, though I typically try to file them all next to each other for easy consultation and comparison, if necessary. As an example, I have quotes from multiple sources about note taking indicating that one should only write on one side of a(n index) card. Some quote earlier sources, some state it without attribution, some say they've learned to do so over time and with experience. Some give reasons why and some don't. The only way to track these practices over time is to note them all together for comparing and contrasting. It wasn't until I'd seen the third mention that I realized the practice was an interesting/important one and worth tracking, so I had to go back and dig up the originals which I had written briefly on their bibliographic cards with page numbers, so it made things easier to create main cards out of them. Because they're all stored together, there's only one index entry for them (for the first one), under "note taking" with the subheading "write only on one side". Alternately I might have made a single note card about the idea of the practice and created a list with pointers of those who used it (or didn't) and links to the sources where I originally found them. Do what makes most sense for you for tracking based on your own situation and needs. You may also find that these things happen frequently when doing literature reviews and things are repeated often within a field. Sometimes it's helpful to figure out who said a thing first and whether or not others are repeating/quoting them or coming to the same conclusion on their own. Is it a solid conclusion? What is the evidence or lack thereof? The only way to know is to start keeping track of these patterns in your reading and notes. Where and how you choose to track it in your zettelkasten is up to you. Sometimes it may be in brief notes with the original source, sometimes in a "hub note", and still others broken out into primary cards collected together.

  11. Jun 2023
    1. At 9¢/card these are very expensive in comparison to bulk cards which usually can be found for 1-2¢/card. The difference however is in the luxuriousness of the silky smooth texture. Whether you're writing with your favorite fountain pen or a carefully chosen pencil. I don't know if these are the same brand of Bristol cards that Vladimir Nabokov used for his writing, but one could easily image him using such lovely material.

      These provide a very smooth writing experience for fountain pens, gel pens and pencils. I particularly love the way my Tennessee Reds and Blackwing 602s glide over their surface. In comparison to some Japanese stationery, I'd put these cards somewhere between tsuru tsuru (slippery) and sara sara (smooth). If you're looking for a toothier paper, you'll definitely want to look elsewhere. They take fountain pens pretty well with no feathering or ghosting. My juiciest fountain pen dries in about 15 seconds, while a drier extra fine is dry in about 7 seconds, so it may take some care not to smear ink if you're on the messier end of the spectrum.

      Pencil erases reasonably well, though there may be some minimal residual ghosting here. At 205 gsm, they've got a satisfying thickness unseen in most index cards and one is unlikely to rip or crinkle them when erasing. They're also thick enough that the wettest Sharpie won't bleed much less ghost through. You have to hold a card up to a backlight to see the appearance of any ghosting through it and even then, not well.

      For the sticklers used to using standard 4 x 6" index cards, one should take note that the dimensions of these are slightly shorter in both dimensions—they're closer to 3.94" x 5.91". This means that you might have to take some care that while flipping through mixed company of cards your Exacompta can potentially hide between larger imperial sized cards. They're also close to, but not quite A6 in size either (105 x 148.5 mm or 4.1 x 5.8 inches).

  12. May 2023
    1. What's included in the 3x5 Life System: 6 months of Daily cards **Schedule version** (186 cards) Monthly/Year Goal Cards (1 year of cards) Habit Tracker Cards (1 year of cards) Weekly Review Cards (1 year of cards) Storage Box with 3x5 logo on lid Monthly dividers to keep your storage box organized Mobile Phone Sleeve Stainless Steel Stand MINI COURSE: Outlining how best to utilize the system

      via: https://www.3x5life.com/collections/frontpage/products/3x5-life-system-with-mini-course

      They apparently offer a mini course outlining the system.

      One wonders how much "why" they offer?

  13. Mar 2023
    1. Hayes, William C. Review of Historical Records of Rameses III, by William F. Edgerton and John A. Wilson. American Journal of Archaeology 40, no. 4 (1936): 558–59. https://doi.org/10.2307/498809.

      Tagged this because it's the first appearance of Zettelkasten in an English language setting in the JSTOR repository.

      see also: https://hypothes.is/a/RYZOssqXEe2H5wtABI0puA

      Started on 2023-03-24; finished on 2023-03-27.

  14. Feb 2023
    1. The 2022-23 Staff Performance Review Process is reviewing your work between March 1, 2022 – February 28, 2023.

      This is an important date to remember.

  15. Jan 2023
  16. Dec 2022
    1. <small><cite class='h-cite via'> <span class='p-author h-card'> Chuck Grimmett</span> in 40 Questions for 2022 (<time class='dt-published'>12/27/2022 20:27:38</time>)</cite></small>

    1. Is the ZK method worth it? and how it helped you in your projects? .t3_zwgeas._2FCtq-QzlfuN-SwVMUZMM3 { --postTitle-VisitedLinkColor: #9b9b9b; --postTitleLink-VisitedLinkColor: #9b9b9b; --postBodyLink-VisitedLinkColor: #989898; } questionI am new to ZK method and I'd like to use it for my literature review paper. Altho the method is described as simple, watching all those YT videos about the ZK and softwares make it very complex to me. I want to know how it changed your writing??

      reply to u/Subject_Industry1633 at https://www.reddit.com/r/Zettelkasten/comments/zwgeas/is_the_zk_method_worth_it_and_how_it_helped_you/ (and further down)

      ZK is an excellent tool for literature reviews! It is a relative neologism (with a slightly shifted meaning in English over the past decade with respect to its prior historical use in German) for a specific form of note taking or commonplacing that has generally existed in academia for centuries. Excellent descriptions of it can be found littered around, though not under a specific easily searchable key word or phrase, though perhaps phrases like "historical method" or "wissenschaftlichen arbeitens" may come closest.

      Some of the more interesting examples of it being spelled out in academe include:

      For academic use, anecdotally I've seen very strong recent use of the general methods most compellingly demonstrated in Obsidian (they've also got a Discord server with an academic-focused channel) though many have profitably used DevonThink and Tinderbox (which has a strong, well-established community of academics around it) as much more established products with dovetails into a variety of other academic tools. Obviously there are several dozens of newer tools for doing this since about 2018, though for a lifetime's work, one might worry about their longevity as products.

    1. I'm a software engineer and ignored wrist and forearm pain for almost a decade. Finally it got really bad so I had to take some steps to improve my condition. I purchased 5 vertical mouses, 1 of the more expensive ones and 4 cheaper ones, to see how they compare.My conclusion is that you just can't judge how a mouse will fit you from reviews. Even reviewers with small hands like mine, had opinions I wholly disagreed with. And I think it's because people use the mouse in a variety of ways. For example, some people rest their hand entirely on their mouse while others use a "floating" hand. Some anchor their wrist and move their hand, while others anchor their elbow and move their forearm. Some have small hands; but, wrist pads and wrist braces raise the wrist, cancelling the problem of (or even overcompensating for) small hands.Especially if you're like me and rest the entire weight of your hand and also anchor your wrist, you're not going to be happy with *any* vertical mouse *at first*, because your hand will feel like it's sagging down the mouse, and when you try to unsag your hand the mouse will feel insecure because you're unanchored your wrist. (This is where the cushion of a wrist brace helped immensely. After 2 weeks I was able to use the mouse even without the wrist brace. But man, did I hate all 5 mouses at first.)Anyway, moral of the story: Bite the bullet and purchase a few mouses. $150 gets you 1 quality mouse and 1 or 2 cheaper ones.Here's a wrist brace I love because it's not plastic-stiff (no affiliation whatsoever): https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B072392YGD.Here are the products I compared:- https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B073B12MS6 (Jelly Comb)- https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07RK96WF8 (VicTsing)- https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00BIFNTMC (Anker)- https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07BFCVJZC (Lekvey)- https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07FNJB8TT (Logitech MX)Miscellaenous:- There's a reason I didn't try the famous Evoluent VM4R. The updated model is getting flack for not living up to its predecessor, and its predecessor apparently hasn't shipped a driver for Mac OSX Catalina, which is what I'm on.- The Anker and Lekvey have exactly the same chassis (and therefore size). The Anker is battery powered while the Levkey is charged. The VicTsing is slightly larger than those. The Jelly Comb is significantly smaller than any of them.- See photo attached for comparisons of things like click and scrollwheel feel. 3.0 out of 5 stars You can't judge comfort from reviews By Andrew Cheong on September 13, 2020 I'm a software engineer and ignored wrist and forearm pain for almost a decade. Finally it got really bad so I had to take some steps to improve my condition. I purchased 5 vertical mouses, 1 of the more expensive ones and 4 cheaper ones, to see how they compare.My conclusion is that you just can't judge how a mouse will fit you from reviews. Even reviewers with small hands like mine, had opinions I wholly disagreed with. And I think it's because people use the mouse in a variety of ways. For example, some people rest their hand entirely on their mouse while others use a "floating" hand. Some anchor their wrist and move their hand, while others anchor their elbow and move their forearm. Some have small hands; but, wrist pads and wrist braces raise the wrist, cancelling the problem of (or even overcompensating for) small hands.Especially if you're like me and rest the entire weight of your hand and also anchor your wrist, you're not going to be happy with *any* vertical mouse *at first*, because your hand will feel like it's sagging down the mouse, and when you try to unsag your hand the mouse will feel insecure because you're unanchored your wrist. (This is where the cushion of a wrist brace helped immensely. After 2 weeks I was able to use the mouse even without the wrist brace. But man, did I hate all 5 mouses at first.)Anyway, moral of the story: Bite the bullet and purchase a few mouses. $150 gets you 1 quality mouse and 1 or 2 cheaper ones.Here's a wrist brace I love because it's not plastic-stiff (no affiliation whatsoever): https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B072392YGD.Here are the products I compared:- https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B073B12MS6 (Jelly Comb)- https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07RK96WF8 (VicTsing)- https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00BIFNTMC (Anker)- https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07BFCVJZC (Lekvey)- https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07FNJB8TT (Logitech MX)Miscellaenous:- There's a reason I didn't try the famous Evoluent VM4R. The updated model is getting flack for not living up to its predecessor, and its predecessor apparently hasn't shipped a driver for Mac OSX Catalina, which is what I'm on.- The Anker and Lekvey have exactly the same chassis (and therefore size). The Anker is battery powered while the Levkey is charged. The VicTsing is slightly larger than those. The Jelly Comb is significantly smaller than any of them.- See photo attached for comparisons of things like click and scrollwheel feel. Images in this review 495 people found this helpful

      Another helpful verified purchase Amazon review on some mice. I found this while looking for a mouse that was (1) ergonomic, (2) rechargeable, and (3) wireless.

      Reviewer gives some thoughts on the different ways ppl use mice and how that effects they need (or lack thereof) for a wrist brace.

    1. I'm building a work from home setup for my wife with 34" Ultrawide LG monitor running macbook pro in closed display mode. We were using Apple Magic Mouse but we noticed alot of stress to the arm and decided to buy an ergonomic mouse. I bought four mice all together : Anker B2C, 2 of the Jellycomb (MV045 & MV09D) and iClever TM209G to compare. Out of the 4 mice, this iClever mice was the last one to come out of the box for the test and honestly I was kind of bummed out only to find out the same exact Jelly Comb MV045 mouse inside the box just with different branding. The iClever didn't have bluetooth where as the Jellycomb did. I honestly didn't even try setting this one up as the form factor was rather uncomfortable for us. Here's the deal, you get what you pay for. All mice performed a good job. Fairly easy to connect with included usb dongle. However, the cheaper jellycomb kept disconnecting when connecting using the dongle. Fortunately it also has bluetooth mode and the connection was much better. I prefer bluetooth over the usb dongle because the dongle takes one more usb port that could be available for other devices on my Caldigit Soho USB C Docking station! Anker mouse lacks bluetooth but I didn't have any issue with its wireless connection using the dongle.

      A helpful Amazon review on 4 ergonomic wireless mice. I found this while looking for a mouse that was (1) ergonomic, (2) rechargeable, and (3) wireless. The viewer covered 4 different mice: - Anker B2C - 2 of the Jellycomb - MV045 - MV09D - iClever TM209G

      This page is for the iClever, but the reviewer claims that it's just like the Jelly Comb MV045.

  17. Nov 2022
    1. Randall Stutman, an executive advisor and prolific note-taker, says, “collecting insights is just the preamble to what really matters: reviewing, with some level of consistency, those insights. You have to routinely make those insights available to yourself.” “Wisdom is only wisdom if you can act on it,” Randall says. “In the review process, you’re making those insights available for your mind to act on.”

      Regular review through one's note cards is important for the memory portion of directly remembering your insights and received wisdom, but they're also important for helping to allow you to grow them into new ideas as well as combining them with other ideas to allow dramatic innovation.

  18. Oct 2022
    1. Not sure why every review is positive when the game is like this. I mean, it technically works and can be completed, so there's that. But the implementation is not great.
    2. The "developer" here, Dnovel/My Way Games is a serial Russian asset flipper. This Russian "Developer" consistently uses a paid/fake review service for all of his games and asset flips, to create false positive review impressions, in an attempt to mislead gamers.This is basically a scam, and your instinct to question the fake positive review score is spot on.
  19. Sep 2022
    1. Courtney, Jennifer Pooler. “A Review of Rewriting: How to Do Things with Texts.” The Journal of Effective Teaching 7, no. 1 (2007): 74–77.

      Review of: Harris, Joseph. Rewriting: How To Do Things With Texts. Logan: Utah State University Press, 2006. https://muse.jhu.edu/book/9248.

    1. Inreality, many students focus on the publication sections, such asabstract, methods, results, and discussion, instead of evaluating themain argument, which is the root of poorly constructed literaturereviews described by Boote and Beile (2005).
  20. Aug 2022
    1. Jones, Christopher P. “Zettelkasten.” Edited by R. Merkelbach and J. Stauber. The Classical Review 50, no. 1 (2000): 170–72.

      Nothing at all about the titular word zettelkasten, but rather a negative review of a book on inscriptions...

    1. The editors of the American historical re-vim suggest t o their reviewers that they should write “witlia scientific rather than a literary intention, and with definite-ness and precision in both praise and dispraise. I t is desiredthat the review of tlie book will be such as will convey t o thereader a clear and comprehensive notion of its nature, ofits contents, of its merits, of its place in the literature ofthe subject, and of the amount of its positive contributionto knowledge.

    Tags

    Annotators

  21. Jul 2022
  22. Jun 2022
    1. The Essential Habits ofDigital Organizers

      This chapter is too entailed with productivity advice, which can be useful to some, but isn't as note taking focused for those who probably need more of that.

      What is the differentiator between knowledge workers, knowledge creators, students, researchers, academics. How do we even clearly delineate knowledge worker as a concept. It feels far too nebulous which makes it more difficult to differentiate systems for them to use for improving productivity and efficiency.

    1. Tiago's book follows the general method of the commonplace book, but relies more heavily on a folder-based method and places far less emphasis and value on having a solid index. There isn't any real focus on linking ideas other than putting some things together in the same folder. His experience with the history of the space in feels like it only goes back to some early Ryan Holiday blog posts. He erroneously credits Luhmann with inventing the zettelkasten and Anne-Laure Le Cunff created digital gardens. He's already retracted these in sketch errata here: https://www.buildingasecondbrain.com/endnotes.

      I'll give him at least some credit that there is some reasonable evidence that he actually used his system to write his own book, but the number and depth of his references and experience is exceptionally shallow given the number of years he's been in the space, particularly professionally. He also has some interesting anecdotes and examples of various people including and array of artists and writers which aren't frequently mentioned in the note taking space, so I'll give him points for some diversity of players as well. I'm mostly left with the feeling that he wrote the book because of the general adage that "thought leaders in their space should have a published book in their area to have credibility". Whether or not one can call him a thought leader for "re-inventing" something that Rudolphus Agricola and Desiderius Erasmus firmly ensconced into Western culture about 500 years ago is debatable.

      Stylistically, I'd call his prose a bit florid and too often self-help-y. The four letter acronyms become a bit much after a while. It wavers dangerously close to those who are prone to the sirens' call of the #ProductivityPorn space.

      If you've read a handful of the big articles in the note taking, tools for thought, digital gardens, zettelkasten space, Ahren's book, or regularly keep up with r/antinet or r/Zettelkasten, chances are that you'll be sorely disappointed and not find much insight. If you have friends that don't need the horsepower of Ahrens or zettelkasten, then it might be a reasonable substitute, but then it could have been half the length for the reader.

    1. What's wrong with a simple, feel good movie?
    2. As has been mentioned this is a take on the Prince and the Pauper story that may not appeal to those who are into art films and like to sit around discussing and dissecting a film's philosophical nuances. If, on the other hand, you simply like a fun story, gorgeous sets, and yes, the occasional over-the-top scene, this can be a thoroughly enjoyable tale of a man who is willing to put the woman he loves ahead of himself.
    3. There are too many people giving this 7+ stars and even 10 stars (unusual to see on IMDb) to believe the legitimacy of the number of 1-star "worst movie ever" reviews. Such paradox is simply difficult to accept as valid.
    4. I almost didn't watch this movie due to the repetitive negative reviews here on IMDb. Usually I find reviews here fairly spot-on. But in this case I am convinced we are living in a generation of viewers who have been raised on so much schlock, sex, violence, blood and foul language that they wouldn't recognize a prime movie if it whacked them with a hammer. Either that or we have a set of the most bogus witch-hunt reviews ever.
    5. Please, feel free to consider the negative reviews as suspect (at the very least)-- and give this film a try. The best and most valid review is your own.
  23. Apr 2022
    1. Book review

      Cook, Trevor. “Review: Blair, Ann M. Too Much to Know: Managing Scholarly Information Before the Modern Age. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2010. Pp. Xv, 397. ISBN 978-0-300-11251-1 (Hardcover) $45.” Renaissance and Reformation 33, no. 4 (December 12, 2011): 109–11. https://doi.org/10.33137/rr.v33i4.15975.

      Note that they've accidentally used the word "in" instead of "Before" in the title of the book.

    1. Grundsätzlich eine nette Idee. Aber an der Umsetzung hapert es. Mein Roboter stößt manchmal gegen unsichtbare Wände oder wird plötzlich in die Luft geschleudert. Zudem wird das Spielprinzip aufgrund der eingeschränkten Bewegungsmöglichkeiten und der immer gleichen Texturen sehr schnell langweilig.
    1. An initial stage of annotation might be provided bya professional reader hired to add aids to reading for the owner, including espe-cially mnemonic or meditative aids, or enhancements to the layout, but alsooccasionally self-reflexive or potentially dissenting observations.24 A successionof owner-readers could then add further corrections and comments.

      Stages of annotation in the medieval period


      When is Hypothes.is going to branch out into the business of professional readers to add aids to texts?! :)

      Link this to the professional summary industry that reads books and summarizes them for busy executives

      Link this to the annotations studied by Owen Gingerich in The Book Nobody Read.

  24. Mar 2022
    1. War im Weihnachtskalender bei Chip. Habe selten so ein Schwachsinn gesehen. Ich weiß nicht was die Entwickler sich dabei denken. Man läuft einfach nur hin und her. Auch wenn es kostenlos war, die Zeit hätte ich mir sparen können.
  25. Feb 2022
  26. Jan 2022
    1. The highest rating Pure Health Fungus Eliminator got on Amazon is 4.0/5 stars. Meanwhile, it got 4.9 stars out of 5 on its official website. I’m not saying that the higher rating is entirely biased. But I just think that we get to see more honest reviews outside its site.
    1. I bought this game in order to review it, seeing as there were no current reviews for it. I thought I'd help the game out by maybe giving it that tiny bit of publicity it needed to get off the ground.
    1. This is the kind of game that, if the quality was better, I might give it a maybe, if Steam offered one.
  27. Dec 2021
  28. Nov 2021
    1. The Classicist Who Killed Homer How Milman Parry proved that the Iliad and the Odyssey were not written by a lone genius. By Adam Kirsch https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2021/06/14/the-classicist-who-killed-homer June 7, 2021

      Someone mentioned this in class today

  29. Sep 2021
    1. I don't recommend the game, but since it is very inexpensive, you can try it for yourself and not be out a lot of money, so this review might not be necessary, but I'm writing it anyway because I have lots of thoughts that I don't see reflected in the first reviews I see on this first Store Page of Squidlit, although I haven't read every review, which would require a lot of time.

      :-)

  30. Aug 2021
    1. In line with dishonest asset flippers, this has a number of fake positive reviews from compromised accounts, all in the same broken English.
  31. Jul 2021
    1. WARNING: I suspect FAKE or "purchased" positive reviews as there is at least one "positive" review that already shows almost 100 hours of game time.. and well this game is nothing but a mess of cobbled together assets off of the Unreal asset marketplace
  32. Jun 2021
    1. What finally led me to write this review was that I recently received an offer containing 2 $20.00 gift cards to write a 5 star review. I wonder now if I had been duped by the reviews I read
    2.  I do not advise. I still do not understand where there are so many good reviews for this product. This vacuum cleaner is literally bursting at the seams.
    3. Soliciting five star reviews earns a one star.
    1. For bibliographic information on this strange memory image, see Bouchot (13).

      Other than filling some space and giving a bit of quirky context, did the text even mention this image? There should have been something.

      There was one later reference to parts of animals, but not specific to this image which could have been tied in better.

    Tags

    Annotators

  33. May 2021
    1. These all look interesting, but my primary worry is the ability to do cross-platform note taking with them. Perhaps worth delving into some more custom reviews, but the price points of these compared to my laptop versus the functionality and flexibility needs to improve greatly.

    1. summaries of comments

      Rapid PREreviews are structured reviews of preprints designed to capture the essence of a preprint. They are composed of 12 yes/no/n.a/not sure questions. We then display the aggregated responses from reviewers so that readers can get a rapid impression of the overall perception around that preprint. Here's an example of 5 Rapid PREreviews on a bioRxiv preprints https://prereview.org/preprints/doi-10.1101-2020.07.04.187583. We are working to integrate the display of rapid PREreviews into OPS so that soon SciELO and RINarXiv preprint servers will display this content next to the preprint. We would love more support to optimize the visualization of the rapid PREreviews and integrate them with more servers.

    1. A relatively comprehensive view of Wouter Groeneveld's commonplacing workflow. There are a few bits missing here and there, but he's got most of the bigger basics down that a majority of people seem to have found and discovered.

      He's got a strong concept of indexing, search, and even some review, which many miss. There's some organic work toward combinatorial thought, but only via the search piece.

      I should make a list of the important pieces for more advanced versions to have. I've yet to see any articles or work on this.

    1. A funny thing to note is how all the positive reviews for this game are from accounts with free/no products or VAC bans. Probably compromised accounts or something. Gotta love those fake reviews.
    2. Check the reviews run ralph run Moo mei 2 Moo Mei 1 and this game, why do most of the positive reviews either have a VAC ban or 0 achievements in the game showing they haven't played it.
  34. Apr 2021
    1. 0.1 hrs on record Early Access Review Posted: February 18 This game is amazing. I don't even speak russia but I got the full in depth story. I have sunk countless hours into all of the nuances in this game. Thank you, sincerley, thank yiou Narod for chaning my life.
    1. Best Online Casino GamesPlay the best online casino games at the best recommended online casinos. Discover our guides to tips and tricks about online casino games.Online casino games – this is the most popular type of game for real money, which are played at online casinos. All online casinos have a huge selection of games. We only offer you the best free online casino games!
    1. Building a wonky factory is way more fun than it has any right to be - and being rewarded for leaving last turn's pieces where they are (or punished for moving them) means that you're always working on top of the mess you made last turn, though you're never completely stuck.
    1. Good review even if it didn't win your heart.
    2. No, I'm afraid not. I wanted to like it, but it hasn't offered up anything to make me choose this over a wealth of other short two-player games. It should go without saying (but it's worth repeating in view of the responses such reviews tend to get on BGG) that a negative review is always subjective and personal to the reviewer.
  35. Mar 2021
    1. The positive reviews are clearly friends of the developer, as this is an extremely low-quality Unreal game, the kind you'd expect from a student project or a 24-hour Game Jam, not something being sold on Steam.