24 Matching Annotations
  1. Sep 2021
    1. The role of the media in shaping public perceptions and opinions about significant political and social issues has long been the subject of much speculation and debate (Maeroff, 1998; Spitzer, 1993; Wilson & Wilson, 2001; Wimmer and Dominick, 1991). It is widely accepted that what we know about, think about and believe about what happens in the world, outside of personal first-hand experience, is shaped, and some would say orchestrated, by how these events are reported in newspapers and communicated through the medium of radio and television.
  2. Aug 2021
    1. https://kimberlyhirsh.com/2018/06/29/a-starttofinish-literature.html

      Great overview of a literature review with some useful looking links to more specifics on note taking methods.

      Most of the newer note taking tools like Roam Research, Obsidian, etc. were not available or out when she wrote this. I'm curious how these may have changed or modified her perspective versus some of the other catch-as-catch-can methods with pen/paper/index cards/digital apps?

    2. Step 3: Set up reading storage and a reading environment.

      Calibre isn't a bad tool/application for doing this for a variety of document types and managing meta data

    1. https://kimberlyhirsh.com/2019/04/01/dissertating-in-the.html

      A description of some of Kimiberly Hirsh's workflow in keeping a public research notebook (or commonplace book).

      I'd be curious to know what type of readership and response she's gotten from this work in the past. For some it'll bet it's possibly too niche for a lot of direct feedback, but some pieces may be more interesting than others.

      Did it help her organize her thoughts and reuse the material later on?

  3. Jun 2021
    1. Table 1Summary of Literature Search Results Including Journals Specializing in Corporate Social Responsibility and Related Topics, n (%) Journal EmpiricalConceptualTotalAcademy of Management Journal32 (86)5 (14)37 (6)Academy of Management Review2 (4)45 (96)47 (8)Administrative Science Quarterly3 (75)1 (25)4 (1)Business & Society12 (44)15 (56)27 (5)Business Ethics Quarterly11 (100)11 (2)International Journal of Management Reviews9 (100)9 (2)Journal of the Academy of Marketing Science8 (57)6 (43)14 (2)Journal of Applied Psychology0 (0)Journal of Business Ethics154 (45)188 (55)342 (58)Journal of International Business Studies6 (86)1 (14)7 (1)Journal of Management6 (55)5 (45)11 (2)Journal of Management Studies11 (65)6 (35)17 (3)Journal of Marketing5 (100)5 (1)Journal of Occupational and Organizational Psychology2 (100)2 (0)Organizational Behavior and Human Decision Processes0 (0)Journal of Organizational Behavior1 (100)1 (0)Organization Science1 (50)1 (50)2 (0)Organization Studies6 (75)2 (25)8 (1)Personnel Psychology1 (100)1 (0)Strategic Management Journal15 (94)1 (6)16 (3)Other journals7 (47)8 (53)27 (5)Total271 (47)305 (53)58

      Table 1 - Literature Review looks at empirical, conceptual, and total number of articles

  4. May 2021
  5. Apr 2021
    1. This is a pretty solid overview of a literature review workflow. He doesn't use the words, but this is not a half bad way to build a digital commonplace book or digital garden/personal wiki for research use.

      I hadn't thought about using Grav as the method for storing and displaying all of it, but perhaps it's worth looking into?

  6. Mar 2021
  7. Jan 2021
  8. Dec 2020
  9. Nov 2020
  10. Oct 2020
  11. Aug 2020
  12. Jul 2020
  13. Mar 2020
    1. Technology and Adult Students In Higher Education: A Review of the Literature

      This article seeks to synthesize an undefined number of scholarly articles related to the integration of technology in higher educational settings in order to present gaps that need additional research. The recommendations are for instructors to move beyond a course that focuses on content and to create a balanced approach that also includes consideration of technology and pedagogical theories. Although the article lists an extremely generic opportunity for continued research, it lacks any specific recommendations for what they found lacking in their literature review and does not adequately move the conversation forward. Ranking: 3/10

  14. Oct 2019
    1. The Politics of Sustainability and Development

      This reading is to help you better understand the role and importance of literature review. Literature review connects us to a bigger community of scientists who study the same research topic, and helps us build up, illustrate, and develop our theory (what is happening between the IV and the DV?) and research design (how one plans to answer the RQ).

  15. Sep 2019
    1. Introduction

      Introduction is a bit longer summary of the entire paper. This is where researchers describe and justify their research questions and briefly discuss what is to come. Typically, introduction is about 500 -- 1000 words.

      Please identify and highlight a research question(s).

  16. Jun 2018
  17. sites.google.com sites.google.com
    1. May 31: Lecture 6 / Screencast Video Link

      Literature Review

    1. Share: Group. Only group members will be able to view this annotation. Only me. No one else will be able to view this annotation.

      I have reviewed many papers and I summarized those papers in my paper in the form of a table which is already an existing theory . So how can I defend that my paper is different from other papers?

  18. Dec 2017
  19. Nov 2017
    1. A stamp in the passport, Portrait, a place I must visit without ever feeling it necessary to return, though I might want to wander out now and then to drop in on Joyce’s poetry, roughly contemporary with the first novel, those curious “pomes,” wearing their spats and dandyish nosegays, occasionally taking up a putative lute to croon promises of theoretical love to unconvincing maidens in the windows of canvas-flat donjons.

      This is relevant.